“It was his story against mine, but of course I told my story better…”

That’s something Humphrey Bogart says in one of my favorite films, Nicholas Ray’s In a Lonely Place. It’s a quote illustrative of what I’ll be doing here. To be able to sermonize uninterrupted will take some getting used to. But I do hope to be interrupted.

This whole idea started out as a list I began keeping about a week ago of the films I’ve been watching… 

Out of the Past – Jacques Tourneur – 1947

My Geisha – Jack Cardiff – 1962 

Asphalt Jungle – John Huston – 1947

Gilda – Charles Vidor – 1946

Girl in the Red Velvet Swing – Richard Fleischer – 1955

A King in New York – Charlie Chaplin – 1957 

King of New York – Abel Ferrara – 1990 

Eyes Without a Face – Georges Franju – 1959 

Control – Anton Corbijn – 2007 

Jigoku (Hell) – Nobuo Nakagawa – 1960

Palindromes – Todd Solondz – 2004

I did also see The Dark Knight, but believe me when I say I won’t litter the infinite internet with any words on the subject. Thoughts on some of the films in the list above will be forthcoming.

One response to ““It was his story against mine, but of course I told my story better…”

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

